SHOP

 

 

 

CUP

 

 

CUP | Andreas Riess 2018

Hand thrown stoneware with different glazings.

 

 

 

Daily Compantion: CUP

 

Clear geometry, stylish appearance, robust stature. The perfect companion for all days: C U P


Turned on the potter's wheel and provided with a hand-cut handle, the cup is produced entirely by hand. On the outside the glaze is applied by dipping while on the inside it is applied by dipping as well as with a brush.

 

The highlight, though, is the handle: Its reduced geometry, dimensions and parallel planes allow safe and effortless controll of the cup. While the indexfinger threads through the hole a quarter curve supports the cup against the middle finger as well as providing insulation against its heat. 

 

The material is stoneware, fired at 1,230 degrees Celsius. The glaze is applied to the raw piece, thus a biscuit firing is avoided - good for the environment. The cup is dishwasher safe and certified as food safe.

 

As a handcrafted product, CUP comes with all the variations that are typical of handcrafted items and make each one unique in its own way. None is exactly the same as the other, each individual cup has its own personality.

 

 

 

The perfect assessoir is the square coaster made of American walnut or oak. Its central hole, which repeats the corresponding motif of the cup handle, is more than just design: The middle finger automatically grabs into it when the coaster is to be moved.

 

in stock ceramics

 

Chimney sweep in Scania

 

 

 

Variation of CUP

 

Philosophy on CUP

 

Since BAUHAUS the concept is not new. To me it is the guidline for my ceramic design. Form follows function.

 

I trust that this one rule is an assurance to create things that have the potential for timeless meaning. Keeping them free of fashion extravaganza that will make them falling out of time sooner or later. Give those temptations a wide berth. In case of doubt: Stay prudent, don't fall for the short kick - these are my mantras not only with ceramic design.

 

The above holds true in respect to C U P especially. The goal was to create a cup that would accompany you every day for many years like a good friend. We all use cups or mugs and are familiar with their common pitfalls. They are to small or too big, they do not stand properly making them prone to tople over on the desktop. They leave ring marks on documents. You can't hold them securely. They burn your fingers. And if they are not pretty a many are plainly ugly.

 

C U P was designed to avoid all these shortcomings. The body is cylindrical with a height and diameter ratio that has the smallest possible surface area for a given content. This ensures the slowest possible cooling of the contents. The cylindrical shape results in a comfortable standing surface - the cup is stable and secure.

 

 

 

Special care has been taken in the design of the handle. In contrast to curved handles, wide, parallel surfaces and a circular hole allow the cup to be gripped and controlled safely. A quarter arch protects the middle finger from direct contact with the cup and its heat.

 

The geometric dimensions of the cup are the result of the above considerations. So far I see no room for further improvements.

 

The creation is followed by the challenge of handcrafted production with its many steps up to the finished piece.

 

And then, there is a dimension that leaves space for individual features, not compromising rule one. Here come the choice of materials, colours, textures and so on. Finally, as a handcrafted product it carries my personal handwriting, which makes every single piece unique in its own way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

December 2019: The advent of a new handle design

Looks good, but falls behind the classic handle in terms of functionality.

 

 

 

Detail of the classic handle

 

 

 

In March 2019 new colors where introduced

 

 

 

CUPs waiting for glazing.

 

 

 

Prototypes of CUP with two handle variants. Although perhaps not quite so stylish, the trend goes to the left version. In experiments, the middle finger support under the handle prevents the finger from touching the hot cup. And - at least for my hand - it offers perfect grip and thus maximum control over the cup.

 

 

 

CUP: Shiny glaze on the inside with vairations of tint

 

 

 

COASTER | a place to land for CUP, american walnut, oiled, about 105 x 105 x 21 mm

 

 

 

COASTER | a place to land for CUP, american walnut, oiled, about 105 x 105 x 21 mm

 

 

 

Prototypes

 

 

 

New design for handle. A quarter curve to support the cup against the middle finger. The quest is to evolve a design that guarantees the best functional and haptic experience.

 

 

 

Something warm in the hand. The matt glaze responds to the feel more sensually than a shiny one. It provoces a haptic interest to explore the object, thus in a subtle manner connecting the user with it.

 

 

 

 

DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESSDESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS

 

 

 

 

deutsch | english

 

Follow on Instagram

 

 

contact | imprint | privacy policy

SHOP

 

 

 

TASSE

 

 

TASSE | Andreas Riess 2018

Handgedrehtes Steinzeug mit verschiedenen Glasuren.

 

 

 

Täglicher Begleiter

 

Klare Geometrie, stilvolles Erscheinungsbild, robuste Statur. Der perfekte Begleiter für alle Tage: Die Tasse

 

Auf der Töpferscheibe gedreht und mit einem handgeschnittenen Henkel versehen, wird die Tasse vollständig von Hand hergestellt. Die Glasur wird auf der Außenseite durch Tauchen und auf der Innenseite mit dem Pinsel aufgetragen.

 

Das Highlight ist jedoch der Henkel: Seine reduzierte Geometrie, seine Abmessungen und seine parallelen Ebenen ermöglichen eine sichere und mühelose Kontrolle der Tasse. Während der Zeigefinger durch das Loch greift, stützt eine Viertelkurve die Tasse gegen den Mittelfinger ab und isoliert gleichzeitig gegen deren Hitze. 

 

Das Material ist Steingut, das bei 1.230 Grad Celsius gebrannt wird. Die Glasur wird auf den rohen Scherben aufgetragen, dadurch wird ein Schrühbrand vermieden - gut für die Umwelt. Die Tasse ist spülmaschinenfest und als lebensmittelecht zertifiziert.

 

Als handgefertigtes Produkt zeigt die Tasse Unregelmäßigkeiten, wie sie typisch für handgefertigte Artikel sind. Jede ist auf ihre Weise einzigartig. Keine gleicht exakt der anderen, jede einzelne Tasse hat ihre eigene Persönlichkeit.

 

 

 

Das perfekte Accessoire ist der quadratische Untersetzer aus amerikanischem Walnussbaum- oder Eichenholz. Sein zentrales Loch, das das entsprechende Motiv des Tassengriffs wiederholt, ist mehr als nur Design: Der Mittelfinger greift automatisch hinein, wenn der Untersetzer bewegt werden soll.

 

in stock ceramics

 

Schornsteinfeger in Skåne, Schweden

 

 

 

TASSE | Variationen

 

Philosophie zur Tasse

 

Seit BAUHAUS ist das Konzept nicht mehr neu. Für mich ist es die Leitlinie für mein keramisches Design. Die Form folgt der Funktion.

 

Ich vertraue darauf, dass diese eine Regel eine gute Richtschnur ist, Dinge zu schaffen, die das Potenzial für zeitlose Bedeutung haben, sie frei von modischen Extravaganzen zu halten, die sie früher oder später aus der Zeit fallen lassen. Besser macht man einen großen Bogen um diese Versuchungen. Im Zweifelsfall: Bleib besonnen, fall nicht auf den kurzen Kick herein - das sind meine Mantras nicht nur bei Keramikdesign.

 

Das oben Gesagte gilt auch für die Tasse. Ziel war es, ein Trinkgefäß zu schaffen, das einen viele Jahre lang jeden Tag wie ein guter Freund begleitet. Wir alle verwenden Tassen oder Becher und kennen ihre Schwächen. Sie sind zu klein oder zu groß, sie stehen nicht richtig, so dass sie auf dem Schreibtisch anfällig für das Umkippen sind. Sie hinterlassen Ringspuren auf Dokumenten. Man kann sie nicht sicher halten. Man verbrennt sich die Finger. Und viele von ihnen sind schlichtweg hässlich.

 

Unsere Tasse wurde entwickelt, um all diese Mängel zu vermeiden. Der Körper ist zylindrisch mit einem Verhältnis von Höhe und Durchmesser, das die kleinstmögliche Oberfläche für einen gegebenen Inhalt aufweist. Dies gewährleistet eine möglichst langsame Abkühlung des Inhalts. Die zylindrische Form ergibt eine bequeme Standfläche - die Tasse steht stabil und sicher.

 

 

 

Besondere Sorgfalt wurde bei der Gestaltung des Griffs aufgewendet. Im Gegensatz zu gebogenen Henkeln ermöglichen breite, parallele Flächen und ein kreisrundes Loch ein sicheres Greifen und Kontrollieren der Tasse. Ein Viertelbogen schützt den Mittelfinger vor direktem Kontakt mit der Tasse und deren Hitze.

 

Die geometrischen Abmessungen der Tasse ergeben sich aus den obigen Überlegungen. Bislang sehe ich keinen Raum für weitere Verbesserungen.

 

An die Kreation schließt sich die Herausforderung der handwerklichen Fertigung mit ihren vielen Arbeitsschritten bis zum fertigen Stück an.

 

Und dann gibt es eine Dimension, die Raum für individuelle Merkmale lässt, ohne die erste Regel zu gefährden. Hier kommt die Wahl der Materialien, Farben, Texturen und so weiter ins Spiel. Schließlich trägt jede Tasse als handgefertigtes Produkt meine persönliche Handschrift, die sie auf ihre Weise einzigartig macht.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dezember 2019: Ein neues Henkeldesign.

Sieht gut aus, fällt aber in Bezug auf Funktionalität hinter den klassischen Henkel zurück.

 

 

 

Detail des klassischen Henkles

 

 

 

Im März 2019 wurden neue Farben eingeführt

Die beliebteste Farbe ist ungebrochen matt nude

 

 

 

Tassen warten auf das Glasieren und den Brand

 

 

 

Prototypen der Tasse mit zwei Griffvarianten.

Obwohl vielleicht nicht ganz so stilvoll, geht der Trend zur linken Version. In Experimenten verhindert die Mittelfingerauflage unter dem Henkel, dass der Finger die heiße Tasse berührt. Und sie bietet - zumindest für meine Hand - perfekten Halt und damit maximale Kontrolle über die Tasse.

 

 

 

TASSE | Glänzende Glasur auf der Innenseite mit verschiedenen Färbungen

 

 

 

UNTERSETZER | ein Platz zum Landen für die Tasse, amerikanischer Nussbaum, geölt, ca. 105 x 105 x 21 mm

 

 

 

UNTERSETZER | ein Platz zum Landen für die Tasse, amerikanischer Nussbaum, geölt, ca. 105 x 105 x 21 mm

 

 

 

Prototypen

 

 

 

Neues Design für den Griff.

Eine Viertelkurve zur Abstützung der Tasse gegen den Mittelfinger. Das Bestreben ist es, ein Design zu entwickeln, das das beste funktionelle und haptische Erlebnis garantiert.

 

 

 

Etwas Warmes in der Hand.

Die matte Glasur reagiert erscheint sinnlicher als eine glänzende. Sie weckt ein haptisches Interesse, das Objekt zu erforschen, und verbindet so den Benutzer auf subtile Weise mit ihm.

 

 

 

 

DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESSDESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS DESIGN STUDIO RIESS

 

 

 

 

deutsch | english

 

Follow on Instagram

 

 

contact | imprint | privacy policy